The Mysterious Benedict Society Review

Trenton Lee Stewart.jpgthe-mbs

Title: The Mysterious Benedict Society

Author: Trenton Lee Stewart

Series: The Mysterious Benedict Society, #1

Publish Date: March 7, 2007

Rating: Well Damn (See Rating System/Scale)

Goodreads Synopsis

“Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?”

Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children-two boys and two girls-succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they’ll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you’re gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

My Thoughts 

World

There isn’t much to say about the world in this novel. How the U.S. is currently can be relevant to the story’s world in 2007.  Adults tend to not heed children’s words, exploit them at times, which causes kids to drift away from their parents.

There are those adults with their third eye open though; we’ll get to that. That’s pretty much it.

Characters

Now the characters take the icing on the cake.

Reynie is my boy; he reminds me so much of me *drops single tear*. For real though, when I found enough information on his thoughts and personality, he reminded me of my younger self intelligence-wise. His mind is superb as an 11 year old in an all-around way, as was mine not to toot my own horn *proceeds to toot horn proudly*.

That's my boy.gif

Sticky is a little touched, lmao. No, I’m just jealous of his memorization abilities. I can’t remember anything even if it just happened sometimes. Weird kid, but the weird ones are usually the smart one, so what does that tell you?

Kate….I honestly don’t know how I feel about Kate. It’s like, if I had a daughter or friend this wild, what would I do? I’ll probably question their existence. Kate is cool though, I could definitely have her as a friend to balance out our personalities – Adventure & Introvert: Back At It Again (all rights claimed to this title)

Constance, that brat. That child is something else. I swear she’s the kid parents look at like, “If only…..Why? Someone help”. Nothing more needs to be said.

jesus-help-me

Others like Mr. Benedict, Morrigan, Number Two, etc., are all interesting in their own way. That’s ideal to see in a novel – every character being unique.

Plot

In short since this is getting pretty long, every detail was centered around the plot. Not to give anything away, the kid inside of me loved the idea of them being *spoiler* secret agents. Automatically, I’m hooked. Out here running like Tyrone Biggums to get the next books.

crack giveaway.gif

Overall

Out of the four books I was reading at the time, this had my utmost  attention. I read about 200 pages (when I was on scheduled to read 25 pages a day for each book) the day before I finished it. The only reason this has gotten a 4 Star Rating is due to my age and mentality. I could predict what the kids would do simply because they’re kids.

I facepalmed, put the book down, shook my head, let out a disappointing gasp, and went back to reading whenever they did something really childish. If you’ve read, remember when they all had to have high scores in the institute, and “somebody” got caught. Of course they did; he freaking used the most common way of “helping”! I’m definitely reading the other books. 

Would greatly recommend!!

Previous Book Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

7 thoughts on “The Mysterious Benedict Society Review

Leave a Reply

