Discussion – Why don’t people do what they want?

Let’s Debate

I think about this on a daily. Why? I can’t wrap my mind around why people choose not to do what they want. There’s always a number of “reasons” why included:

  1. Parents won’t approve
  2. Friends will look at me differently 
  3. People will think I’m weird
  4. I can’t
  5. I don’t think I’m ready
  6. I’m scared
  7. I have *mental disorder*

 

This is where it can get heated.

I have “reasons” in quotations, because I find them as excuses.

I know people go through things everyday – some harder than others, but I’m optimistic. I believe they can get through it. There’s always a way around something, you just have to figure out what it is

I can care less if anyone in my family “approves” of me. I approve. I sound like a rebel, which I am, but that doesn’t change anything. Friends, especially the ones that barely know you, shouldn’t even be a thought in your mind. You can be as weird as you like; you’re you and only you, so live up to it. The logic behind some answers are baffling at times. Even so, I can understand everything after #3.

Saying you can’t is terrible. You can’t right now is better. You might not be ready to get over that hump, but what’s holding you back? Probably yourself. You’re scared of what? To fail, be embarrassed, to lose things – that’s life. Although, I would never want to lose someone, if it’s necessary it’s necessary.

If you want to debate about this one, feel free. I’m ready.

Mental disorders are all in the mind, nothing else. Yes, I said it; I always believed that, and no evidence has swayed me to think otherwise. If there’s a will, there’s a way. That’s all it comes down to. I know people can be traumatized and hold on to terrible memories for years, but what’s holding them back? Their own mind is blocking the light out of torment. 

Now there definitely are mental disorders that people can’t get past, and that’s ok. I won’t argue about that one. 

Let me know what you think. Link whomever you want to go against me, like I said, I’m ready. Be fair though. Start linking doctors and I’m gonna have to bring the big dogs out!………I don’t have any big dogs……

Let’s Debate

 

My Twitter: @TizzyMatic       Previous Post: Goodreads Monday – The Bone Witch

Last Book Review: The Mysterious Benedict Society

My Goodreads: TizzyMatic

4 thoughts on “Discussion – Why don’t people do what they want?

Leave a Reply

