Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Review

cursed-child-and-jk-rowling

Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Authors: J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne

Series: N/A

Publish Date: July 31, 2016

Rating: Ard (See Rating System/Scales)

Goodreads Synopsis

“It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must…..”

My Thoughts

World

Nothing much has changed in the world of magical beings. It’s still as great as it was when Harry & Gang were younger. Since this hasn’t changed, the world does not affect this review.

Harry Potter 5.gif

Characters

Albus is like Boruto. If you watch anime and know that Boruto lashed out against his dad and did something stupid, Albus did the same – he just could have ruined a lot more than the culture. He’s a rebel at heart, curious, and sympathetic, much like his father. Basically, he’s young, did young things that were bad, and couldn’t see the truth anywhere.

Rose, the good-natured one in the group didn’t get the shine she should have gotten. She was basically Hermonie, but much less of her. Do you see where I’m going here.

Scorpious was the only child character that I felt I could have some attachment to. And his father is Draco!!! Mysteries are all around him, which is always great if done right. This is J.K. Rowling though; she knows how to make a character appealing.

I’d have to give the characters 2 stars. Damn kids.

facepalm kids.gif

Plot

It was childish to the max. The kids, the freaking kids, acted like kids, only worse! As you can see, I didn’t enjoy it. Throughout the book, none of what happened seemed necessary.

How could kids go out into the world and completely disrupt it like the adults around them aren’t powerful? It’s like the adults are blind (now that I think about it, adults are blind at time, but this is different!). I’m trying not to spoil as much as possible here. The plot was iffy.

I’d give it 3 Stars on it’s own.

what just happened.gif

Overall

I didn’t hate it. I didn’t love it. The kids are at the center of why I couldn’t enjoy the play as I would have wanted to. If they weren’t in the play, it would have been better of, lol.

They didn’t have any emotional connection except for Scorpious. Albus was conflicted like teens are. Rose didn’t have enough development done with her, which she should have. Rose would have been my pick if she was more involved, honestly. Scorpious had an aura around him that screamed, help me. With that, he was the most interesting. The adults did change; they act old, lol. I’m still young, so I can say that.

Give the kids a better reason for what they did, and a more appealing story, then the rating could’ve gotten to 4-5 stars. Damn

damn damn damn.gif

My Twitter – @TizzyMatic       Previous Post – Why don’t people do what they want?

Last Book Review – The Mysterious Benedict Society

My Goodreads – TizzyMatic

6 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Review

  1. I didn’t feel strongly about this either, except that I also thought Scorpius was great. It was also disappointing that Rose was barely in the play, but I’m pretty sure that’s just because she would have immediately stopped all the time travelling. Because it’s clearly a terrible idea.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what I was thinking. I don’t know if there’s going to be a sequel or anything. but that time travel has to be scratched or it’ll take something big to make that work.

      Like

Leave a Reply

