Why I don’t celebrate Christmas or New Years

So, once again we’re at this time of year. 

I used to celebrate Christmas, not so much New Years, but I have my reasons. Having nothing to do with religion, it’s simply that I grew up.

From?

Well, that’s a bit of a story.

skip to the end.gif

Alrighty then.

I have two younger sisters (see where this is going?) and we live in the hood, or should I say, we live in a poverty-stricken city with a lot of violence (how about now?). I’m the eldest, thus I have a sense of responsibility over my sisters, which I take seriously……sometimes (just kidding).

Three years ago………I think it was three years ago lol, I decided to stop celebrating Christmas. I just wanted my sisters to have more of what they wanted and my mom to have money left over. Plus, the things I always asked for were expensive anyway.

expensive.gif


At that time I was 15, expensive would’ve meant a PS4 and a bunch of games. At 16, games would still be my choice. The next year, a car. This year, a car.

Why would I ask for such expensive things? It’s what I want. “It’s the thought that cou-“ Nah.

nah.gif

I know it’s the thought that counts, but no fam. Don’t judge me. If I can’t get what I want, what’s the point? I was always grateful, but that’s just how I think. The only reason I wanted a car at 17 is due to being in college (whole other story), not able to go home or go somewhere when I wanted to.

money greed.gif

Back to the point, after I stopped celebrating, my sisters had more of what they wanted, mom had money, and I enjoyed watching my sisters be happy. Each year I would tease my mom with something to get me though just for laughs.


How touching of a story.

Did you cry? No? There’s no need to doubt yourself. I know this was a tear-jerker.

Now as for New Years….My birthday is the next day, so New Years was never important to me. 

The End.gif

Is there anything you don’t celebrate, or feel iffy about? Let us know in the comments!

 

Previous Post: Vampyrie Book Review

Last Award/Nomination: Mystery Blogger Award Nomination!

Last Discussion: How do you feel about blogging and its community?

3 thoughts on “Why I don’t celebrate Christmas or New Years

  1. I feel like instead of not celebrating Christmas, your celebrating it in the sweetest way possible, by sacrificing the gift getting so your sisters could experience more of the gift getting. Wonderful post!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

