The Blazing Star by Imani Josey Book Review

I’m back

I took an accidental break, lmao. These 5 days of not being on WordPress at all were…..weird. It was like something was tugging my shirt and I didn’t look back at what it was. Since then, my birthday has passed (Jan 2).

That’s really all that happened, which is why I don’t understand how I managed to take a break. The world may never know the answer…….

Moving on, let’s get into this book review!

i-josey-blazing-star

Title: The Blazing Star

Author: Imani Josey

Publication Date: Dec. 6, 2016

Rating: Well Damn (See Rating System/Scale)

Solid 4/5 –  See Goodreads Synopsis to understand my thoughts.


My Thoughts

Only Weakness

Being that the setting was in Egypt for almost the entire novel, I expected to learn different things I didn’t know. Instead, the three main Black female protagonists were in Egypt…..that’s kinda it

Of course there were some of the mythical aspects of Ancient Egypt integrated; that was great. Personally, I was looking for the good, bad, and downright ridiculous things that happened back in their society. Everything seemed way too nice.

I wish there was more given into the world building. This alone could throw you off.

burger-no-sauce


Greatest Strength

Portia, one the three protagonists, is the homie. I swear I know her from somewhere. The overall tone Imani Josey used was all too familiar to me. I pretty much grew up talking and hearing the same way, so I laughed and enjoyed reading throughout.

Not to say I couldn’t dig Alex (Portia’s twin) and Selene (school “friend”). It’s just that Portia was special (ha, if you read the book, you’ll understand the pun). Alex is more or less closer to me except for how she thinks though. Selene is just Selene lol. 

ayyye.gif

My face when I knew Portia was gonna be my fav.

Lesser Strength

Time travel is fascinating, and Imani did that very well. Honestly, that’s all I have to say for that, cause everyone knows traveling through time is cool (right?…..). She leaves us on a cliff hanger though. For that, someone almost caught the fade.

catch-the-fade

If you don’t know what it means to catch a fade, please refer yourself to the urban dictionary, fam.


Overall

This novel could have been 5+ stars easily. I actually started off giving it 5/5 until I started writing this review. Why? Realizing that the world building could either make someone enjoy or flat out not recommend, made me change my perspective. 

P.S. Portia is the realest.


LOL creepy.gif

LMAO!!! What do you think of this gif? Is it creepy, funny, just….idk? I find it hilarious for unknown reasons.

Previous Post: Upcoming Reviews and Reads

Last Book Review: Vampyrie: Origin of the Vampire Book Review

Last Discussion: Discussion – What are your personal goals for 2017?

7 thoughts on “The Blazing Star by Imani Josey Book Review

  1. Great Review! Very Well Written – An Enjoyable Read! The photos were hilarious & really intriguing! They brought the post to life! I loved it! Check out my blog – if you don’t mind – I’d like to hear your thoughts! I’d really appreciate it! Keep up the good work! 🙂 🙂

    Like

  2. Happy (late) burthday. Great review! It always makes it interesting when it is set in a whole different setting and then the author doesn’t necessarily do anything with the setting. Great thoughts, though! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

