Book Review – The Suspenseful Collection: Volume One By Didi Oviatt and Kim Knight

Ever wondered what would happen if two authors came together to write stories together? One author finishes and the other ends?

Kim Knight and Didi Oviatt did their thing and created 8 naturally flowing short stories of various genres.

Some should definitely turn into full novels. I’m telling you, a few were really good, even excellent, but a couple didn’t hit me as much as it could’ve.

Let’s get into it!

The Suspenseful Collection by Kim Knight and Didi Oviatt.jpgAuthors: Kim Knight and Didi Oviatt

Genres: ….A lot

Publisher: Knight Publishing

Released: July 28, 2017

Rating: Well Damn – Bruh (See Rating System/Scale)


Goodreads Synopsis

“A suspenseful novel with a twist. Eight short stories, by two suspense authors, from diverse backgrounds. From opposite sides of the Atlantic these stories have been created. One author started the tale and the other ended it.

No discussion, no pre-planning, but yet their stories are seamless. With just creativity and the use of writing prompts, to craft one tale, with two different writers. This anthology of suspenseful, fast paced and engaging tales covers multiple genres. From heart felt romance, crime, fantasy, and steamy historical fiction. There is a story for everyone!”


Review

* around title means it needs to continue or, I NEED MORE PLEAAASSSEEE

Historical Crime Fiction: *It was The First Time I Killed A Man* = 5*

We have New York’s first ever female serial killer being interviewed by a reporter to get a confession.

Seems cool, right? It went left. In a good way though. Of course, I can’t tell you how it went left. Always spoiler free when it comes to my book reviews. You just have to read it yourself.

I need more. Great start to the collection!


Contemporary Romance: When His Hands Run Up My Thighs I… = 3.5*

Two people, man and woman, have been reunited after 30 years of no contact. 

Already didn’t sound like my cup of tea with all the lovey dovey romance, but I had to give it a try. Reading it, I understood where it was going, but I hoped for some type of twist – anything to make me want to read more of it.

Didn’t happen, but it was still a good short story, hence the 3.5 star rating. I’m a romantic guy, so it’s funny how romance doesn’t interest me in books *shoulder shrug*.


Crime Fiction: The Entrance To The Tunnel Is His Only Way Out = 4*

You know what happens when you want out of a gang right? There is no out. Same thing for this ex-gang member running for his life.

Thought it would be the cliche, I need to get away gang member, then he actually gets away and lives a simple life. Nah. That twist came and it was actually super unfortunate. On a different level of unfortunate if that helps (I know it doesn’t)

I laughed at what happened. Shouldn’t have, but I did. Probably not a good thing to laugh at other’s misfortunes, but what’s funny has to be laughed at. Bumped up the original 3.5 rating to 4 just for that.


Suspenseful Crime Fiction: *Guilty As Charged, In Self-Defense* = 5+ (let’s say 7)

This one right here….this one right here NEEDS TO BE A BOOK (hint hint Didi/Kim)

We have a female, so fierce and dedicated mind you, defense lawyer. She killed it. This was my favorite short story out of all eight. That’s all I need to say. 


Kim and Didi.jpg

There are two more that I think could continue as novels. The last remaining two ending off good. One has a chance to continue, the other doesn’t in my opinion. Just wanted to show you that there’s bit of everything mixed up in there.


Recommendation

Rated with an average of 4.25 out of 5 stars from all 8 stories, this collection of short stories deserves some more readers. 

 

If anyone has any short story recommendations, let me know!

 

11 thoughts on “Book Review – The Suspenseful Collection: Volume One By Didi Oviatt and Kim Knight

Leave a Reply

