List of My Favorite Childhood Books

There comes a time when you have to reflect back on your life sometimes.

This is that time. 


  1. Harry Potter Series (Goblet of Fire and Deathly Hollows are tied as favorites)

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.jpgHarry Potter and the Deathly HollowsHonestly, the only reason I like the Goblet of Fire the most is because Harry’s hair was longer. It looked better that way to me. I always liked long hair, cornrows, box braids, the puffy ponytails – it stems from that. Don’t judge me 🙂

The Deathly Hollows was more on the emotional side for me, so it’s tied for #1. The Harry Potter franchise was the first and only time I cried when I was younger (I wasn’t an emotional kid around 7 yrs. old) and to find out this was the end had me bawling my eyes out. Also the series that started my reading hobby. Shoutout to J.K. Rowling as usual.

JK Rowling toast.gif


2. Percy Jackson and The Lightning Thief

Percy Jackson and The Lightning Thief.jpg

Riding on the coattails of the HP series, Percy Jackson came in at the right time in my life. After this book, I believed in Greek mythology more than anything. Entire family was Christian, not me. Then I started questioning all things religion. This is why I said it came in at a perfect time. 

After learning and finding out all the details of different religions I came to a conclusion that I couldn’t believe in anything. So this one book led me to look into religion and that caused me to become the person I am today.

*Views have changed a bit since then. If any God is real then, they’re real. That’s all there is to it to me.*


3. The Living Nightmare (Cirque Du Freak)

A Living Nightmare by Darren Shan.jpg

Another staple to figuring out what I like, the fantasy, A Living Nightmare made me realize my preferred genre is fantasy. I wondered why I liked superpowers, magic, video games (like Grand Theft Auto, God of War), anime and all things unrealistic – this novel finally gave me that answer.

When it comes to anything, when it’s outlandish (not too outlandish), it’s usually instant interest. Frostblood by Elly Blake, flew threw that. The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco, flew threw that. Just another book that changed and gave me answers for why I like certain things.


4. The Angel of Death 

The Angel of Death by Alane Ferguson.jpg

This novel was kind of weird. I’m reading the synopsis and only now realize this had romance in it. I thought it was all mystery, plus I just found out this is the sequel in a franchise. How could I do such a thing?

Back to the point, I learned that I like science. Not forensics as this was, but chemistry.

*I still feel upset that I didn’t realize this was a romance, too. I was 12 years old though. That’s no excuse.* I’m arguing with myself. Moving along….


Bonus: Every Junie B. Jones Book

Junie B. Jones books.jpg

I tear up every time I see a Junie B. Jones book. That was my early childhood. When everything was fun and cool. Before Harry Potter, before science, before wanting superpowers, before gaming…….no, that’s not right 😀

This was a great time in my life and there was ALWAYS a Junie B. Jones laying around somewhere. The feels…the feels.

The feels anime.gif


Well I just went through a major feel trip. I’m honestly tearing up, especially after ending with Junie B. I told myself it would be easier to put it at the end. IT’S NEVER EASIER! 

Didn’t think I was going to get emotional while writing. Are there any books that hit you in the feels as soon as you remember how they affected you?

8 thoughts on “List of My Favorite Childhood Books

Leave a Reply

