In My Twenties

There are many people who do not care for their own well-being. My mom is like that with her family, especially my sisters and I. I tell her all the time to spend money and time on herself all the time, but she doesn’t hear the message. 

Faye is spreading a message with her own observations with self-care (hope I’m using the right words here for your post Faye)

If you need some inspiration, motivation, feel like you deal with the issue of not caring for yourself enough, please take a look at Faye’s post.

Wish her a happy birthday as well y’all!

Culture Eighteen.

It’s my 20th birthday today. And my twenties are going to be my selfish years.

Not out of spite/resentment, but as a form of self-affirmation.

The way I see it, these few years ahead are crucial. Theyare mine to mould, craft and shape in whatever direction I see fit. Personally and professionally. To choose me before others. Unapologetically. To use what I’ve previously learnt, through trials and tribulations of my teenage self, and manipulate those lessons to drive me forward. To not look at a mistake and see failure but to recognise the opportunity for growth and improvement. To live and let live.

To choose me before others, again.

Unapologetically. Honestly. Sympathetically.

I’m learning to follow my own intuition, and two decades later the greatest lesson I’ve learnt from the path I’vewalked is the importance of self-care. To selfishly put myself first. And to ownthe confidence/apprehension/vulnerability that accompanies it.

The…

View original post 33 more words

Book Review: Why You Should Pick Up Gilded Cage by Vic James

Could you drop everything – your family, career, goals, your life, for an entire decade? Imagine a world with 10 years already knocked off of your life. 

How does that world look to you? 

If you can’t even fathom a place where you have no choice, but to give up your life, Gilded Cage can help you.

Gilded Cage by Vic James

Author: Vic James

Genres: Fantasy, Dystopia, YA

Publisher: Del Rey Books

Release Date: February 14, 2017

Rating: Bruh (See Rating System/Scale)

In modern-day Britain, magic users control everything: wealth, politics, power—and you. If you’re not one of the ultimate one-percenters—the magical elite—you owe them ten years of service. Do those years when you’re old, and you’ll never get through them. Do them young, and you’ll never get over them.

This is the darkly decadent world of Gilded Cage. In its glittering milieu move the all-powerful Jardines and the everyday Hadleys. The families have only one thing in common: Each has three children. But their destinies entwine when one family enters the service of the other. They will all discover whether any magic is more powerful than the human spirit.

Have a quick ten years. . . .

– Goodreads Synopsis

Could you drop everything – your family, career, goals, your life, for an entire decade? Imagine a world with 10 years already knocked off of your life. 

How does that world look to you? 

If you can’t even fathom a place where you have no choice, but to give up your life, Gilded Cage can help you.

Continue reading “Book Review: Why You Should Pick Up Gilded Cage by Vic James”