Dear Me: Taking Breaks |Diary – Day 2

Taking breaks usually hurt my consistency and productivity. I have no clue what to do.
Can anyone help me with this problem?

Why do people need to take breaks? Is it truly necessary? Does the time one needs to take a break differ from from another? Is there a way to simply not take breaks? Can we control that urge to take a break? 

These are questions to my main problem with consistent and productivity. I’m the type of person that needs a break after doing some type of work. That usually hurts my performance since I could continue on and do some more work. There’s this pretty simple concept that you can use to continue on working called force. Yeah, you can force yourself to do things. 

Most take that approach with different angles. Me? I couldn’t find one. Knowing that I rebel against all that goes against me in some way, I couldn’t bring myself to force myself to do something I didn’t want to do. 

Can’t use force, so now what? I have no clue. 


I’ve tried timing it using my own time methods along with the Pomodoro technique. I’ve tried just not taking breaks or taking very few breaks, but here’s my problem, I have to take a break. If I don’t, I get tired and my performance drops well below my standard level. 

What can I possibly do to continue working? I ask myself that all the time and I’m sure I know one way, listening to the piano. Keeping something in my ear so I don’t get bored as quickly as I do helps me, plus it’s nice to hear. Of course, I wouldn’t be talking about it now if there wasn’t a problem with that, too. I can’t listen to the piano all the time. 

When I’m sitting somewhere doing work on my laptop, yes. When I’m training for basketball or playing a game, no. So we can say I need to again, figure out a way that works for me in all aspects, or a couple/few that works for all. 


I sit here and think time and time again, what is really the problem, the sole reason that I just can’t see? I have no answers. 

Absolutely none. 

The other problem is how long I take breaks and don’t realize how much time has passed, but that’s a time for another discussion. Day 2 is in the books.

The first task of getting on track with my dream is this. If anyone has any recommendations, please let me know.

2 thoughts on “Dear Me: Taking Breaks |Diary – Day 2

  1. Interesting. I am totally a no break kinda girl, but do find it helpful on a project to change to something else then go back. The ‘break’ give a different perspective. I am on a break now! I guess I agree with Darque Deamer here, do what feels natural, your brain does need time to just be and wander. Maybe one day lots of breaks next day none.

    Like

  2. I don’t know if I could really be much help with this, but I feel like if you feel that you need a break then take a break. I do this sometimes. If I don’t feel like reading, I don’t read. I don’t want to force myself to do something that is supposed to be enjoyable. Sometimes I just need a break from everything, so I find something I do enjoy to relax with.

    Like

Leave a comment